We asked ChatGPT and Gemini this question.
Here’s what they said: ChatGPT also clarified that “on personal ChatGPT accounts, content may be used to improve/train models unless you opt out.”
Even when activity saving is turned off, Google may temporarily retain chats for up to 72 hours for safety and maintenance before deleting them. Users can go to Settings > Data Controls and turn off this option if they do not want their conversations to be used for model improvement. “When you upload a picture, you share biometric facial features and potentially image metadata (like date or device specs). Platforms process this data to edit the image. To manage or delete activity from Gemini, users can go to the Activity tab under Settings and select Turn off and delete activity.
The “Improve the model for everyone” option allows OpenAI to use user data to improve and train ChatGPT. Depending on your account settings, images and prompt histories may be stored on cloud servers,” Gemini said.

