147 Aam Aadmi Clinics revamped in Ludhiana; work on 27 more sites: A practical reader guide

147 Aam Aadmi Clinics revamped in Ludhiana; work on 27 more sites: A practical reader guide

The Punjab government has completed the revamp of 147 existing Aam Aadmi Clinics across the district, upgrading their buildings and infrastructure at a cost of around ₹ 27 lakh each. All 147 facilities are now operational, while work is underway to develop 27 additional clinics as part of the state’s effort to broaden access to primary healthcare across rural and urban areas.

This figure is an estimate and does not represent a confirmed sanctioned budget. The inauguration date will be announced once it is decided. The 27th location has not been identified in the information shared. The department has not specified the phase under which Ghudani falls. The LIT is executing work at five locations. The Mandi Board is undertaking work at three locations. Under Panchayati Raj, seven sites are being developed. The PHSC is executing work at five locations. The progress report identifies the four agencies executing the work, while some projects also fall under the Public Works Department (PWD), including its GLADA-related wing. Aam Aadmi Clinics offer free medical consultations, diagnostic tests and medicines. Each facility is envisaged to have three staff members — a doctor, a pharmacist and a clinical assistant — to attend to patients, dispense prescribed medicines and facilitate clinical services. The department has not disclosed whether any staff vacancies exist at the facilities. The expansion work has encountered delays owing to payment-related issues.

The proposed expansion involves 27 more locations. Six of these healthcare facilities are existing but non-functional and are being converted into Aam Aadmi Clinics, while the remaining 21 clinics are being constructed. The estimated development cost is ₹ 42 lakh per location, putting the projected outlay for all 27 sites at ₹ 11.34 crore. The health department, however, has furnished site-wise progress details for only 26 locations — six under phases 8, 9 and 10, and 20 under phase 11. Construction progress at the listed sites ranges from 10% to 88%, with individual completion deadlines falling between October 31 and December 31, 2026. Six sites under phases 8, 9 and 10 The six locations listed under phases 8, 9 and 10 are Central Jail, Bank Colony, Gungrali Rajputtan, New Raj Guru Nagar, Bhammian and Ghudani. Under phase 8, work at Central Jail is 50% complete, with November 30 set as the tentative deadline. Bank Colony has recorded 75% progress, against a deadline of October 31. Under phase 9, Gungrali Rajputtan is 50% complete and is scheduled for completion by November 30. New Raj Guru Nagar has reached 80% progress, with October 31 listed as its tentative deadline. Under phase 10, Bhammian has recorded 70% progress and is scheduled for completion by November 15. The separate site at Ghudani has made 10% progress, with December 31 set as its tentative completion date. Phase 11: 20 sites being developed by four agencies The 20 locations under phase 11 are being developed by four agencies — the Ludhiana Improvement Trust (LIT), Mandi Board, Panchayati Raj and Punjab Health Systems Corporation (PHSC). Progress across these sites ranges from 10% to 88%. Bhaini Darera, Ghudani Kalan and Thakkarwal have each reached 88% completion, while Bagga Khurd has recorded 85% and Barundi 80%. All five sites have November 15 as their tentative completion deadline. Gujjarwal has recorded 70% progress, while Khandor and Sarabha have reached 75% each. Gujjarwal and Khandor had October 31 as their tentative deadline, while Sarabha is scheduled for completion by November 5. Boothgarh has recorded 40% progress and is scheduled for completion by December 31. Chonta and Kilarraipur have reached 70% each, while Dhalian is 60% complete; all three have November 30 as their deadline. Noorpar Bet and Rachhin have each reached 80% progress, with October 31 listed as their completion date. Sahauli has recorded 70% progress and is scheduled for November 30. Jassian has reached 80% completion and Noorwala 50%, with both scheduled for completion by November 15. Dhandra and Threeke have recorded progress of 10% and 15%, respectively, and have December 31 as their tentative deadline. The department has marked all 20 phase 11 sites as feasible for development. The clinics operate from 9.30 am to 3.30 pm. A common operational deadline for the 27 additional locations has also not been finalised. The department has put the overall progress of the work at around 85%, while the inauguration schedule remains undecided.

District nodal officer Seema Chopra said the existing clinics were already functional before the revamp, which was undertaken to improve their infrastructure and provide better facilities for patients. Free consultations, diagnostic tests and medicines Chopra said the expanded clinic network was intended to bring essential healthcare services within easier reach of residents, sparing them long journeys for medical consultations and treatment.